Photos from 07/17/10 – Vassar Farm

From 5:45 am to about 10:45 am, I hiked much of the Vassar Farm trails.  Just watching the sunrise, I knew it was going to be a good day.  I finally got a decent photograph of a Pileated Woodpecker (photograph on right), a bird that has eluded the viewfinder of my camera for over a year and a half.  It doesn’t help that their call almost sounds like it’s laughing at you.

I also got not one, but two cooperative juvenile red-tailed hawks posing at various locations.  I have never seen hawks so close out in the wild before and I almost didn’t want to leave.  I probably took well over 100 photos of them just perched, preening and getting harassed by other birds.

Ordered by column (left to right):

  1. American Redstart
  2. Eastern Cottontail
  3. European Starling
  4. Great Blue Heron
  5. Green Heron
  6. Pileated Woodpecker
  7. Red-Tailed Hawk
  8. Red-Tailed Hawk
  9. Twelve Spotted Skipper
  10. White Tailed Deer
  11. Wood Ducks
This entry was posted in Photos. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Photos from 07/17/10 – Vassar Farm

  1. MARJORY GREENBERG-VAUGHN says:

    I cannot begin to tell you how much I enjoy your photos. They are inspiring and very beautiful.

    I have a question about the first photo. Is that an immature redstart? it looks haggared, like perhaps a papa or like a young bird still with the fuzz on it’s head.

    Tending to think it is a well-worn adult male, I thought just to clarify that.

    Thanks so much, Marjory

  2. Jeff Nicol says:

    Great photo of the Pileated, I have never got a chance to photograph one of those. Another wonderful photo set sir.

Leave a Reply

