06/26/10 – Mt Beacon Hike

Just got back a little while ago from a hike up Mt. Beacon.  I didn’t bring any of my camera gear as I didn’t want to hike up there with any more weight than I needed to.  I did capture this photo on my cell phone at the very top of our hike.  It was too hazy to see the Walkway to the north and the New York City skyline to the south.  Autumn is a much better time to see those landmarks from Mt. Beacon.

We bumped into a few fellow hikers at the summit, who went up the breakneck ridge trail.  They saw a rattlesnake on their ascent!  I have never personally seen one, but hope to at some point (from a safe distance of course).

In terms of wildlife, we didn’t see a whole lot.  We did hear quite a few Ovenbirds, Prairie Warblers & Eastern Towhees, along with several calls I was not familiar with.  I hope everyone enjoys the remainder of the weekend!

This entry was posted in Hiking. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

