07/02/10 – Vassar Farm Hike

Changed things up a bit today.  I had an opportunity to go out this morning from 6:00 am – 10:00 am, so I decided to go to Vassar Farm.  It was pretty chilly this morning, I could even see my breath outside!

Today was another great birding day.  I saw a total of 46 bird species, which was the same amount as last time I visited here.  However, we have a few different ones on the list, such as this photo I got of an Indigo Bunting!  Also saw a pair of Pileated Woodpeckers, a pair of Belted Kingfishers, and several juvenile species.  Full list after the break.

  1. Wood Duck (Many juveniles)
  2. Mallard
  3. Great Blue Heron
  4. Green Heron
  5. Turkey Vulture
  6. American Kestrel
  7. Killdeer
  8. Mourning Dove
  9. Belted Kingfisher (male and female)
  10. Red-Bellied Woodpecker (few juveniles)
  11. Downy Woodpecker
  12. Northern Flicker
  13. Pileated Woodpecker (saw 2)
  14. Red-Eyed Vireo
  15. Blue Jay
  16. American Crow
  17. Tree Swallow
  18. Barn Swallow
  19. Black-Capped Chickadee
  20. Tufted Titmouse
  21. White-Breasted Nuthatch
  22. House Wren
  23. Eastern Bluebird
  24. Wood Thrush
  25. American Robin
  26. Gray Catbird
  27. Northern Mockingbird
  28. Brown Thrasher (some juveniles)
  29. European Starling
  30. Cedar Waxwing
  31. Blue-Winged Warbler
  32. Yellow Warbler
  33. American Redstart
  34. Common Yellowthroat
  35. Eastern Towhee
  36. Song Sparrow
  37. Northern Cardinal
  38. Rose-Breasted Grosbeak
  39. Indigo Bunting
  40. Red-Winged Blackbird
  41. Common Grackle
  42. Brown-Headed Cowbird
  43. Baltimore Oriole (some juveniles)
  44. House Finch
  45. American Goldfinch
  46. House Sparrow
This entry was posted in Hiking. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 07/02/10 – Vassar Farm Hike

  1. Jeff Nicol says:

    I love your recent photos from Vasser Farm. I am the guy who asked where it was the other day on the yahoo bird forum. Thanks for the directions. I am going over there real early Sunday morning, hope I get a few shots as good as these ones!

    • Derrick says:

      I wish you the best of luck in your birding and photography tomorrow! If you have any other questions about locations, definitely let me know, as I’ve been to many around here. 🙂

Leave a Reply

