09-25-10 – Out of County – Garlic Festival & Saugerties Lighthouse

One of my favorite events of the year is the Garlic Festival in Saugerties, NY.  It is being held today and tomorrow.  You can find out more by visiting the official site: 2010 Hudson Valley Garlic Festival.  Over the years, I’ve had a lot of the garlic novelties such as chocolate covered garlic & garlic ice cream, as well as great food and drinks from the numerous vendors.

Always an opportunist, I had a second destination in my sights today after the festival.  I wanted to get out to the Saugerties Lighthouse for the first time and see what was hanging around on the Hudson River.

From the parking lot, we proceeded down the trail to the picnic area to get a look of the area.  There was a great view of the Hudson River and was a pretty good place to start my observations.  No more than a few minutes in, an Osprey flew by.  He then turned around towards us and landed on a branch on the shore, right above me!  Thinking he would fly off quickly, I took a few unflattering photos from underneath, then slowly moved to a better spot.  He didn’t seem to mind me around too much, as he hung around for a good 30 minutes.

One surprising feature was presented to me when the Osprey had turned his head.  He had two different color eyes!  Once I noticed this, I didn’t want to leave until I was able to get a photo of both of his eyes facing me in a single shot.  I was able to get shots of just the red eye and just the yellow eye, but it took a good 25 minutes of waiting and he finally turned towards me and I got the shot.  I will post it once I’m done processing it.

Other sightings included several Mallards, a few Ring-Billed Gulls, some Double-Crested Cormorants, a pair of Catbirds and a Belted Kingfisher. I think I also heard a Carolina Wren.

This entry was posted in Hiking and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

