10-08-10 – Vassar Farm Hike

I managed to squeeze in a little birding late today at Vassar Farm.  Hoping to continue my luck there, I started my normal course.  The front pond yielded no herons of any kind.  After waiting for a little while, a Belted Kingfisher flew past.  I went up into the woods (orange trail) to see if I could find any woodpeckers or hawks, but only heard a few Black-Capped Chickadees.  There were several male and female Mallards towards the far end of the pond from the orange trail, but it was overall quieter than normal.

On the way back to the road, I saw my highlight of the day, a Solitary Sandpiper.  Well, at least I think it was a Solitary.  I was able to get some decent photos (like the one in this post), so as always, any input is appreciated.

As I headed towards the back ponds past the fields, I heard the familiar song of White-Throated Sparrows.  In fact, I saw lots of different sparrows, many of which I wasn’t too sure of.  I will have to post some of those photos later.  One thing is for sure, the White-Throated ones are back, and I definitely saw Chipping Sparrows.  I think I even saw a Savannah Sparrow (which would be a first for me in Dutchess County if true)!

In the end, a very confusing day, haha.  I will have to rely on others expertise once I get the photos up on the site.  Full birding list below (ones marked with an * I’m not completely sure of, but I got a picture that I’ll post soon):

  1. Canada Goose
  2. Mallard
  3. Solitary Sandpiper*
  4. Mourning Dove
  5. Belted Kingfisher
  6. Red-Bellied Woodpecker
  7. Downy Woodpecker
  8. Northern Flicker
  9. Blue Jay
  10. American Crow
  11. Black-Capped Chickadee
  12. Eastern Bluebird
  13. Gray Catbird
  14. Northern Mockingbird
  15. European Starling
  16. Cedar Waxwing
  17. Chipping Sparrow
  18. Savannah Sparrow*
  19. Song Sparrow
  20. White-Throated Sparrow
  21. House Finch
  22. American Goldfinch
This entry was posted in Hiking and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

