10-09-10 – Vassar Farm Hike

For the second straight day, I went to Vassar Farm for a little exploring.  I was there for a fairly long time too, five hours, 11:00 am – 4:00 pm!  While many sightings were repeats from yesterday, I did manage to see and photograph a few new faces.

Again, I started my hike at the front ponds.  There were many more Canada Geese there than yesterday (8 today as opposed to only 2 yesterday).  In the trees, I noticed a Great Blue Heron perched high above the water.  He was too far back to get any photographs, but since I was going to the orange trail which hugs the water, I thought I might be able to get a closer shot.  After a few chickadees, mallards and woodpeckers sightings, I got my heron shot.  I also saw several Yellow-Rumped Warblers.

After the front ponds, I didn’t see much of anything but a lone Turkey Vulture until I made my way to the back ponds.  There were several types of sparrow back there, including White-Throated Sparrows.  I am still looking over my photos to see what the other sparrow might have been.  There was also a bunch of eastern painted turtles scattered about, some of which were really small.

I wandered about some more and made my way back to the community gardens, where I found a flock of House Finches and what might have been another Savannah Sparrow.  I got a single photo of the sparrow for review later.

Since I wasn’t content with leaving at this point, I went back to the front pond and the Solitary Sandpiper was back again for the second straight day!  I snapped off a few more photos of him as well as the yellow-rumped warblers.  I took a ton of photos from this walk and I will probably have to update the list below once I go through them all.  If I come across any stumpers, I’ll open the discussion to everyone!

Full sighting list (* means I’m not 100% sure on the ID):

  1. Canade Goose
  2. Mallard
  3. Great Blue Heron
  4. Turkey Vulture
  5. Red-Tailed Hawk
  6. Solitary Sandpiper
  7. Mourning Dove
  8. Belted Kingfisher
  9. Red-Bellied Woodpecker
  10. Downy Woodpecker
  11. Norther Flicker
  12. Eastern Phoebe
  13. Blue Jay
  14. American Crow
  15. Black-Capped Chickadee
  16. White-Breasted Nuthatch
  17. Carolina Wren
  18. Eastern Bluebird
  19. American Robin
  20. Gray Catbird
  21. Northern Mockingbird
  22. European Starling
  23. Cedar Waxwing
  24. Yellow-Rumped Warbler
  25. Savannah Sparrow
  26. White-Throated Sparrow
  27. Northern Cardinal
  28. House Finch
  29. American Goldfinch
  30. House Sparrow
This entry was posted in Hiking and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

