10-17-10 – Peach Hill Park Hike

Took a little time this afternoon to hike around Peach Hill Park in Poughkeepsie.  It’s been a few months since I was here last, so I was pretty excited about what I might find.  It’s also the first time I’ve ever been there in the Fall.

From the parking lot, I started down the blue trail and found myself surrounded by dozens of foraging birds.  Black-capped chickadees, tufted titmice, white-throated sparrows, and yellow-rumped warblers were abundant.  Also spotted a pair of palm warblers and ruby-crowned kinglets.  The lighting was difficult to work with in terms of photography, but it was great to see so many birds.

Once I made it to a crossroads, I went down the red trail.  It was more of the same with yellow-rumped warblers and white-throated sparrows.  I did see a few red squirrels running around back there too.

As I made my way back, I decided to pick up the orange trail next.  It was at this point that I heard the screech the raptors.  I looked up to see what appeared to be red-tailed hawks, five of them.  If I couldn’t see their colors, I would have assumed they were vultures.  I snapped a few photos, but they were pretty far away.  I also ran into more white-throated sparrows there, as well as a dozen or so dark-eyed juncos.  I spent a little time standing around in this area to see if anything else would appear, but only a northern flicker popped out.

And that’s about it.  Full sighting list below:

  1. Turkey Vulture
  2. Red-Tailed Hawk
  3. Red-Bellied Woodpecker
  4. Downy Woodpecker
  5. Northern Flicker
  6. Blue Jay
  7. American Crow
  8. Black-Capped Chickadee
  9. Tufted Titmouse
  10. White-Breasted Nuthatch
  11. Ruby-Crowned Kinglet
  12. American Robin
  13. Northern Mockingbird
  14. Cedar Waxwing
  15. Yellow-Rumped Warbler
  16. Palm Warbler
  17. Song Sparrow
  18. White-Throated Sparrow
  19. Dark-Eyed Junco
  20. Northern Cardinal
This entry was posted in Hiking and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

