10-23-10 – Buttercup Farm Hike

On Saturday, I went to Buttercup Farm Sanctuary to see what was in the area.  It was a somewhat cloudy day, so photography took a back seat to the actual sightings.  As I pulled up in my car, I was greeted to both dark-eyed juncos & white-throated sparrows.

As I made my way down the trail, there were many more white-throated sparrows.  I got to the first clearing where I could overlook the marshy areas, unfortunately I didn’t see any ducks.  There were certainly no lack of white-throated sparrows.  I continued towards the small pond near the stone structure.  A belted kingfisher was being chased by an american robin all through out the area!  On the water was a pair of mallards and also an american black duck.  I tried to get a photo, but it was too far away for a sharp shot.

After that, it became very quiet.  I saw a pair of white-breasted nuthatches and a black squirrel, but I didn’t see much of anything until I made it all the way towards the end of the main trail.  From there, I saw a large group of ducks in the distance in the marsh.  Looking through my binoculars showed dozens of green-winged teal, a few pairs of mallards and american black ducks, and one pair of canada geese.  I wished they were a little closer, because they were extremely far away.  The photo above was as good as I good get (the green-winged teal is on the right in the photo).

As I was standing getting the best photographs I could, a black colored bird flew right in my line of sight as I was looking through my camera.  When I refocused, I could see that it was a rusty blackbird.  I took a few shots, and he flew in a tree above me, were 10-15 more were sitting quietly!  It was the first time I’ve seen this species before, and I got a lot of photos to document the find.

All in all, a great day for observation, not so good for photography.  I will have photos up soon.  Below is the full list:

  1. Canada Goose
  2. American Black Duck
  3. Mallard
  4. Green-Winged Teal
  5. Wild Turkey
  6. Great Blue Heron
  7. Turkey Vulture
  8. Northern Harrier
  9. Red-Tailed Hawk
  10. Mourning Dove
  11. Belted Kingfisher
  12. Red-Bellied Woodpecker
  13. Downy Woodpecker
  14. Northern Flicker
  15. Pileated Woodpecker
  16. Blue Jay
  17. American Crow
  18. Black-Capped Chickadee
  19. White-Breasted Nuthatch
  20. Carolina Wren
  21. Eastern Bluebird
  22. American Robin
  23. Cedar Waxwing
  24. Yellow-Rumped Warbler
  25. Song Sparrow
  26. White-Throated Sparrow
  27. Dark-Eyed Junco
  28. Red-Winged Blackbird
  29. Rusty Blackbird
  30. American Goldfinch
This entry was posted in Hiking and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

