Weekend in Review

On Saturday, I got together with a few friends to go climbing at Peter’s Kill in New Paltz.  Despite some early morning clouds, it was another pleasant day on the weekend.  Before doing all of this wildlife work, I was an avid climber for a decade.  This was the first time in several years that I had the chance to get out, and it was a lot of fun.

While I didn’t have my camera gear, I did keep my eyes out for any wildlife.  The highlight of the day came halfway through the day, when we heard the cry of a Golden Eagle.  We never saw the bird, but we were able to confirm the call through listening to audio at allaboutbirds.org.  Full sighting list below:

  1. Golden Eagle (heard only)
  2. Black Vulture
  3. Turkey Vulture
  4. Red-Tailed Hawk
  5. Downy Woodpecker
  6. Red Bellied Woodpecker
  7. Pileated Woodpecker
  8. Black-Capped Chickadee

Also this weekend, I made a last minute decision to hang back Sunday and do some work on both the blog and my store.  I’ve finished adding ornaments to my Zazzle Store, so now I will be updating my blog in various ways, mainly the guide and the ‘places to hike’ sections.  Stay tuned!

This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

