12/19/10 – Winakee Nature Preserve Hike

After spotting a yellow-bellied sapsucker at Peach Hill Park yesterday, I figured I would go back to the place I saw one before yesterday, Winakee Nature Preserve in Hyde Park.  I saw one there way back in February, so it’s been a while.  After eating at Pete’s Famous diner, who share the parking lot to the preserve, I saw my target.  Within seconds, I spotted a yellow-bellied sapsucker, right next to my car!

As you can see from the picture, I got beautiful looks at the sapsucker.  It was a juvenile, which is making me wonder if Winakee is a nesting spot for them.  In February, I photographed an adult female sapsucker in the same area.  Does anyone know if this is documented anywhere?

After a few exceptional photos, it flew back into the woods, and I pursued.  Once there, I realized he wasn’t alone.  I then spotted a second juvenile sapsucker!  There were several other woodpeckers around too, including two downy woodpeckers, one red-bellied woodpecker, and two white-breasted nuthatches.

As I looked to the ground, I spotted several dark-eyed juncos, a few american goldfinches, a male eastern bluebird, and my fiancee spotted a carolina wren.  This was all before starting the hike!  We began to hike the main trail, but after walking about a half a mile with total silence, we turned back and ended our day.  Full sighting list below (from 12:20 pm – 1:00 pm):

  1. Red-Bellied Woodpecker
  2. Yellow-Bellied Sapsucker (2 juveniles)
  3. Downy Woodpecker
  4. American Crow
  5. White-Breasted Nuthatch
  6. Carolina Wren
  7. Eastern Bluebird
  8. Dark-Eyed Junco
  9. American Goldfinch
This entry was posted in Hiking and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 12/19/10 – Winakee Nature Preserve Hike

  1. Shelley Gum says:

    Oh, beautiful. Thanks for sharing….

Leave a Reply

