Photos from 12/31/10 – Vassar Farm

Well, these photos were the last ones taken in 2010.  A majority of them came from standing in one single spot and I am extremely happy that I was able to end the year on such a positive note.  Photo highlights included a female yellow-bellied sapsucker, better american tree sparrow photos for my collection & what I believe is a mallard hybrid.

For 2011, I am hoping to get some new winter species photographed, as well as some new warblers sightings in the springtime.  Waterfowl and raptors are big on my list too.  I also want to check out new places to hike in Dutchess County.  For now though, enjoy the photos!

Photos from 12/31/10 – Vassar Farm (in order by row, left to right):

  1. American Tree Sparrow
  2. American Tree Sparrow
  3. Blue Jay
  4. Cedar Waxwing flock
  5. Dark-Eyed Junco
  6. Downy Woodpecker
  7. Eastern Bluebird
  8. Eastern Bluebird
  9. European Starling
  10. Hairy Woodpecker
  11. Mallard (hybrid w/ Black Duck maybe?)
  12. Red-Bellied Woodpecker
  13. Red-Bellied Woodpecker
  14. White-Breasted Nuthatch
  15. Yellow-Bellied Sapsucker
  16. Yellow-Bellied Sapsucker
This entry was posted in Photos and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Photos from 12/31/10 – Vassar Farm

  1. Jamie says:

    I’ve just stumbled across your blog and have been reading through it with some interest. I’m visiting family in the Wappingers area for Christmas and New Years and I’ve been making an effort to go to the Creek in particular to photograph the birds.
    I’ve been fortunate enough to see a few new ones including the belted kingfisher, although he’s proving very difficult to get a good shot of as he’s been whizzing noisily up and down the Creek the past few days! Seeing all the different species you’ve managed to photograph has given me real inspiration to get out there and see what I can spot.
    I look forward to reading further updates in the New Year.

  2. Derrick says:

    Hi Jamie! Those belted kingfishers are certainly a challenge to photograph, but Wappinger Creek is a great place to find them. I recently started going there at the end of 2010, and I will certainly continue going there this year as well. I wish you the best of luck and hope you get some great shots!

  3. Jamie says:

    Thanks Derrick. I went down to the Creek for just a short time today as it was such a nice day, I managed to photo a male and female Hooded Merganser for the first time, saw a small flock of Common Mergansers, the Belted Kingfisher being noisy as usual, and get my first photo of a Pileated Kingfisher, who it turned out was returning to its nest high up in one of the trees. Turned out to be a well timed visit!

Leave a Reply

