New Birds Photographed – Black-throated Blue Warbler & Northern Rough-winged Swallow

Black-throated Blue Warbler

This was the moment I was waiting for all spring!  I’ve been dying to photograph a warbler I’ve never seen before and I finally found one.  It took a lot of patience and bug bites, but I get to welcome the black-throated blue warbler to my list of photographed species in Dutchess County!  This is the 113th bird on my list!  I found him with several yellow-rumped warblers behind the field station at Vassar Farm.

Northern Rough-winged Swallow

It doesn’t end there either.  While walking around the eco ponds at Vassar Farm, I saw several swallows zipping by.  I knew they were a species I haven’t photographed but I’ve seen previously, but they are so fast.

Suddenly, one landed above me, followed by another, then a third.  I moved into a good spot and starting taking photographs of my 114th bird species, the northern rough-winged swallow!

The spring migration is definitely in full swing, so if you have a chance to get out in the next couple of days, I would highly recommend it.  There are some truly beautiful birds out there to discover.

This entry was posted in Photos and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to New Birds Photographed – Black-throated Blue Warbler & Northern Rough-winged Swallow

  1. Scott says:

    Belated congratulations on the black-throated blue! I just saw my first down here in southeast PA.

Leave a Reply

