Photos from 05/11/11 – Peach Hill Park

Chestnut-sided Warbler

After going to Peach Hill Park the day before and seeing the potential of an early morning hike, I decided on a return visit.  Originally, my plan was to go to Buttercup Farm Sanctuary, but I had some issues getting out the door on time.  It turned out to be a good decision, as I ultimately photographed five new birds I had never seen before.

It was a little cloudier than the forecast mentioned, but I had hoped for some sun later in the morning.  In the parking lot as I pulled up, I saw a flock of white-crowned sparrows foraging about on the ground.  I’ve been seeing them all week, which has given me more opportunities to photograph them.  I continued to find more of them as I walked up the hill and around the pond.

Tennessee Warbler

Suddenly, I heard a warbler that I did not recognize.  I was able to locate him briefly, but he dove back into the tree, and he never came back out.  It turned out to be a tennessee warbler, which was a first.

As I continued down towards the white trail’s back orchard section via the red trail, I could hear many different kinds of warblers singing back there.  One of those songs was from a northern parula, which I was later able to find and photograph at my spot.  For nearly the remainder of the hike, I stood and listened to my surroundings as the warblers passed through the area.

Magnolia Warbler

One bird that managed to remain hidden the entire morning was the nashville warbler.  I distinctly heard two nashvilles singing in the orchard, but I couldn’t locate them.  As the morning continued, more and more warblers began to sing and hop around in the tree branches.  This magnolia warbler briefly showed up, as well as more northern parulas and dozens of yellow-rumped warblers.  Even a single black-throated green warbler made a quick appearence.

Then I heard another warbler song I wasn’t familiar with.  After listening to a few recordings, I was fairly confident I was in the presence of a blackpoll warbler.  He didn’t make it easy for me to find him either.  I literally followed his song through half the park, waiting for my chance to photograph him.  An hour later, I saw him take off out of a nearby tree.  I got no photographs from this warbler chase.  Little did I know that I would get a second chance later in the morning.

Blackpoll Warbler

When I returned to the back orchard section of the white trail, I heard the blackpoll song again, and it was getting closer.  I decided to stay where I was and see if he would come to me.  Sure enough, he did, and what transpired after that were several photos of him foraging through the area.

At this point, it was past noon, and I was nearly out of space on my camera!  I thought of stopping somewhere else after this hike, but I decided to rest up after an extremely eventful morning.  Below the gallery is the full sighting list.

Photos from 05/11/11 – Peach Hill Park (click photos to enlarge)

Full sighting/sound list:

  1. Cooper’s Hawk
  2. Red-tailed Hawk
  3. Mourning Dove
  4. Red-bellied Woodpecker
  5. Downy Woodpecker
  6. Great Crested Flycatcher (heard only)
  7. Eastern Kingbird
  8. Yellow-throated Vireo (New Bird Photographed! #117)
  9. Blue Jay
  10. American Crow
  11. Tree Swallow
  12. Black-capped Chickadee
  13. House Wren
  14. Eastern Bluebird
  15. Wood Thrush (heard only)
  16. American Robin
  17. Gray Catbird
  18. Northern Mockingbird
  19. Brown Thrasher
  20. Blue-winged Warbler
  21. Tennessee Warbler (New Bird Photographed! #118)
  22. Nashville Warbler (heard only)
  23. Northern Parula (New Bird Photographed! #119)
  24. Yellow Warbler
  25. Chestnut-sided Warbler
  26. Magnolia Warbler
  27. Black-throated Blue Warbler (heard only)
  28. Yellow-rumped Warbler
  29. Black-throated Green Warbler (New Bird Photographed! #120)
  30. Blackpoll Warbler (New Bird Photographed! #121)
  31. American Redstart
  32. Ovenbird (heard only)
  33. Common Yellowthroat
  34. Eastern Towhee
  35. Song Sparrow
  36. White-throated Sparrow
  37. White-crowned Sparrow
  38. Northern Cardinal
  39. Rose-breasted Grosbeak
  40. Indigo Bunting
  41. Red-winged Blackbird
  42. Common Grackle
  43. Orchard Oriole
  44. Baltimore Oriole
  45. American Goldfinch
This entry was posted in Hiking, Photos and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Photos from 05/11/11 – Peach Hill Park

  1. Elaine Andersen says:

    That beautiful chestnut-sided!
    Like a splash of cinnamon on a latte!

  2. Derrick! Wow! I am so thrilled for you…………..
    Such great pics. Your patience pays off time & time again!
    Love seeing your pics!
    Don’t ever stop!

  3. Don’t recall if I have ever asked but what kind of lens are you using to get such great shots? My teles are soooooooooo heavy!

    • Derrick says:

      I use a 150-500mm Sigma lens. It is much heavier and bulkier than my 300mm (maybe 5 lbs?), but it really allows me to get the shots I’ve always wanted to get. In many cases, I just like getting proof shots of my sightings. It also lets me get good photos without getting too close to my subject.

Leave a Reply

