07/12/11 – Peach Hill Park

Peach Hill Park

Two great things happened today – I got out hiking on a week day and I finally made my return to Peach Hill Park!  It’s been nearly two months since I last visited one of my favorite places, back when migration was at its peak.  What’s going on nowadays?

I didn’t get much time there, hiking between 6:00 and 7:30 pm.  The first thing I noticed was that a new kiosk is being built, resembling the ones seen on the Dutchess Rail Trail.  I have watched this young park over the years continue to grow with new trails and hard work, and it does not go unnoticed.

Hummingbird Clearwing Moth

Once on the trails, there were rabbit everywhere!  I managed several decent photos of rabbits of all sizes.  The birds stayed somewhat hidden, but I heard plenty of catbirds, kingbirds, and yellow warblers.

The biggest surprise came with my first clearwing moth sightings of the season.  I saw both snowberry clearwings (a first for me) and hummingbird clearwings (photographed).

This entry was posted in Hiking and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

