New Butterfly Photographed – Common Buckeye

Common Buckeye

This just keeps getting better and better.  At Vassar Farm in the afternoon, I photographed yet another new butterfly, the fifth new butterfly photographed in less than a month.  Introducing the common buckeye!

It was one of three that I spotted on my way through the fields, each one provided me with a slightly better photo.  The first two I found soaking in the sun on the main gravel road through the fields, while the third was on a flower just off the trail.

According to the butterflies and moths website, this isn’t even on the Dutchess County checklist!  I have to assume this isn’t as common as its name suggests.  If anyone is heading to Vassar Farm this weekend, I hope you are lucky enough to see one too!

This entry was posted in Photos and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

