Wildlife Photos from 08/06/11 – Vassar Farm

Great Blue Heron

Last Saturday was by far the more diverse day in my back to back visits to Vassar Farm.  When I woke up and saw that it wasn’t raining, I figured I would stick with the theme of pushing my luck.  Once again, it worked in my favor.

I had a couple of highlights during this hike, two of which happened right after one another.  At the back ponds, I saw two snapping turtles hissing and fighting in the water.  Other than the two photos I have in the gallery below, most of the sequence was just below the surface.  I also saw two northern flickers go at it shortly after, with feathers flying everywhere!  After the tussle ended and they took off, I was able to add some pristine feathers to my growing collection.  As if that wasn’t enough, I also found frogs, turtles and a water snake back there too.

Photos from Vassar Farm (click photos to enlarge)

This entry was posted in Photos and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Wildlife Photos from 08/06/11 – Vassar Farm

  1. Hello,

    I really loved your blog, but it appears that you have put a lot more work into it. I will keep your blog in my twitter so I can come back and see it again when it has some new information. Good subject!

Leave a Reply

