Wildlife Photos from 08/07/11 – Peach Hill Park

Praying Mantis

Last Sunday’s visit through Peach Hill Park was a short and sweet one.  What was supposed to be a long hike through all the back trails quickly turned into a short hour long visit.  The humidity proved to be too much for me, even with a good amount of water.

The highlight of the day was easily the praying mantis, which I got a ton of photos of before he hopped further into the shrub.  Every few minutes or so, he would turn towards me, offering me interesting shots, such as the one to the right.

I really tried to stick it out on the hill after that, because shortly after the mantis sighting, I found a pair of common buckeyes as well.  The day had the sightings I was looking for, but I was feeling pretty lousy from the heat and left.  These photos were all I was able to get.

Photos from Peach Hill Park (click to enlarge)

This entry was posted in Photos and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

