New Bird Photographed – Eastern Wood Pewee

Eastern Wood Pewee

It’s been three and a half months since I’ve photographed a new bird, but it finally happened with my first eastern wood pewee shot!  There were surprisingly quite a few of them at Vassar Farm, and it only seemed like a matter of time.

That moment came two hours after I arrived, at the back pond area.  Not only did I confirm the sighting by photograph, I confirmed it by song too.

This is now the 124th bird I’ve photographed in Dutchess County!

This entry was posted in Photos and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to New Bird Photographed – Eastern Wood Pewee

  1. THAT’S what those little tiny birds were at Vassar Farm pond–too little for my old eyes to see, and too far away for my 10x lens to get a shot! Thanks, Derrick!

    • Derrick says:

      Not a problem, Lyn. The flycatchers love the Vassar Farm ponds, but they are extremely difficult to tell apart. The best way to identify them is by their song. Some species are so similar, it’s the only way to distinguish them. In that case, I play the calls with my portable player to elicit a response. Flycatchers tend to speak up when they hear their own call. 🙂

      Pewees have a distinct, drawn out whistle that sounds a lot like their name. You can visit this link to listen to it – http://www.allaboutbirds.org/guide/Eastern_Wood-Pewee/sounds

Leave a Reply

