12/10/11 – Vassar Farm

Great Blue Heron

Saturday, I spent a considerable amount of time at Vassar Farm to continue my search for more winter wildlife visitors.  In terms of variety, the day wasn’t all that great, but one moment in particular really made my day.

As I walked to the front pond, I could see a great blue heron sitting along the trail.  Usually, the moment I spot them, they take off.  This one was much different though.

As I walked by, I was shocked that he stuck around, paying no attention to me whatsoever.  By the time I got up to him, I was standing about six feet away from the heron.  I had never been so close to a wild great blue heron in my life.  I just watched in awe and observed him in his environment.

Great Blue Heron

For the next hour, I watched the heron yawn, preen, scratch his head, get startled by a belted kingfisher, watch passing mallards, and stand on one foot.  From a photographer’s prospective, I couldn’t have asked for a more perfect scenario.

Unfortunately, I didn’t see much else throughout the course of the day.  Nothing in the fields or at the back ponds worth mentioning, and I didn’t see the pileated woodpecker hollowing out the telephone pole with the fake woodpecker next to it.  If anything, it is always an enjoyable hike.  You win some and you lose some, right?

The upcoming photo gallery will contain shots exclusively from the time I spent with the heron.  Hope everyone is enjoying the weekend!

This entry was posted in Hiking and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 12/10/11 – Vassar Farm

  1. Jeff says:

    Stunning head shots of this Heron. Nice job. It is not often you can get anywhere near that close to a Heron.

Leave a Reply

