12/17/11 – Vassar Farm

Common Merganser

Apologies for posting a little later than normal!  It has been a hectic couple of days, but I wanted to make sure I posted my sightings during a short visit to Vassar Farm.

I was only able to spend a short amount of time at the front pond on Saturday, so thankfully it was full of interesting wildlife!  The great blue heron was still hanging around, as well as the belted kingfisher and mallards.  This time though, there were a pair of female common mergansers to try and photograph!  I have consistently found them at the pond year after year in the winter and spring months, so I was happy to see them again.

Yellow-bellied Sapsucker

The wooded area on the other side of the pond was also abundant in wildlife.  There were dark-eyed juncos, white-throated sparrows, northern cardinals, and even a few american goldfinches all found in the brushy areas.  The woods were filled with woodpeckers.  In all, I spotted some downy woodpeckers, hairy woodpeckers, red-bellied woodpeckers, one brown creeper, and a yellow-bellied sapsucker.  I heard a pileated woodpecker at one point, but I never found him.

It was a shame it wasn’t sunny out, it definitely made it difficult to photograph all the species of birds in the area.  You can’t always get optimal light though, so you have to work with what you’re given.

I should have more photos posted later this week.  I will likely be away for Christmas weekend, so there is a chance I will not get out at all for a while.  If that happens, I want to wish all you readers out there happy holidays!  Until next time! 🙂

This entry was posted in Hiking and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

