02/04/12 – Peach Hill Park Hike

Early Saturday morning, I set out to Peach Hill Park to see what wildlife I could find.  Tons of work, including pruning and removal of invasive plants, has been done at the park, and the effort was immediately noticed.

I began on the red trail, hugging the perimeter of the park.  It started off pretty quiet for the first 20 minutes or so, but the silence was broken with the songs and calls of tufted titmice.  They have been a tough species to photograph in the wild, and today was no exception.  Soon, some black-capped chickadees began to chime in, then some dark-eyed juncos, followed by a downy woodpecker, and a white-breasted nuthatch.  Everything was coming to life all at once, and I was in the center of it all.

White-breasted Nuthatch

After everything moved through the area, I continued my hike up towards the summit.  On my way up, I heard a strange sound, similar to what mourning doves sound like when they fly.  To my surprise, it was the sound of two mute swans flying through the area!  That was unexpected, and I even got some photos as they passed by.

The rest of the day, I was trying to get photos of the golden-crowned kinglets that kept turning up.  The problem is, they are notoriously difficult to get pictures of.  I spent a good portion of my day following their call, but they were too quick and too crafty.  Looks like I’ll have to come back and try again at a later date.  I ended up finishing my day photographing a few tree sparrows along the trail.

All in all, an enjoyable hike with not many sightings this time around.  Until next time!

 

 

This entry was posted in Hiking, Photos and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

