Photos from 03/10/12 – Peach Hill Park

Peach Hill Park

In the interest of saving time since I have a ton of content I want to put up on the site before the weekend, I am going to combine the normal write-up with the full gallery.

Early Saturday morning, I started my day at Peach Hill Park to enjoy the trails and observe the local wildlife.  It was one of three places I ultimately stopped at during the day.  I focused solely on the low lying trails, saving the hike up to the summit for another day.

It started off quiet, much like my previous visit, but it didn’t take long before I started spotting birds.  I started on the red trail, and my first sighting of the day was a very cooperative eastern bluebird perched on a tree.  He was partially blocked by branches, but persistence and sitting perfectly still for a few moments rewarded me with a better opportunity with the bluebird flying to a more open perch.

Eastern Bluebird

While enjoying a stroll along on the white trail, I ran into group of foraging birds, including some chickadees, cardinals, and juncos.  Out of everything, I was only able to photograph a couple of the juncos as they crossed over the trail.

All throughout the day, the cries of hawks filled the sky.  Red-tailed hawks and a red-shouldered hawk both made their present known, but they were far too high in the sky to get a good look at them.  I’m still looking to get another decent shot of a red-shouldered hawk, but it looks like it’ll come another day.

Cedar Waxwing

On my way out of the park, I heard a northern flicker call out at the intersection of the white and orange trails, so I decided to spend a little time to see what I might find.  Standing motionless for ten minutes in what I thought would be a good spot, several robins and cardinals flew by.

The highlight of the day came next, as a lone cedar waxing perched on a nearby branch.  He only stayed for a few moments, but it was more than enough time to snap a few shots.  I hung around for a little longer, but other than more robins, I didn’t see anything else.

I thought the day went well, considering I was only there for about an hour and a half.  I’ve posted the photographs form the day below.  Enjoy!

Photos from Peach Hill Park (click photos to enlarge)

This entry was posted in Hiking, Photos and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

