Wildlife Photos from 03/24/12 – Morgan Lake

Northern Cardinal

With the high chance of rain all last weekend, I was only able to make a quick stop at Morgan Lake in Poughkeepsie.  Well, it ended up not raining at all, but thankfully the lake and the surrounding wildlife provided me with more than enough opportunities to capture some nice pictures.

The biggest surprise to me was the how close northern cardinals came as I hung around the waters edge.  Cardinals are another nemesis bird for me when I head out hiking and bird watching, mainly because of how skittish they are outside of a yard with a feeder.  I see them almost every hike I have, and I end up with no photos!  I probably got more cardinal photos in one visit here than in the last two years of hiking!

I photographed a couple more species of birds, plus some turtles, which can all be seen in the gallery.  Enjoy!

Photos from Morgan Lake (click photos to enlarge)

This entry was posted in Photos and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Wildlife Photos from 03/24/12 – Morgan Lake

  1. avian101 says:

    Nice group of photos Derrick! 🙂

  2. bradgsmith says:

    Very pretty. I love the straight on look at the swan and his takeoff pic.

  3. Elaine Andersen says:

    Years ago I had a young black cardinal with a red male in my lilac bush, and alas, no
    camera ! Wrote it up for Waterman Bird Club ” Wings.”
    Then a couple of years ago my daughter had a mostly white cardinal in her yard
    and Bill Case got a quick, motion-blurred shot of it before it disappeared. I got
    to see the white one with my daughter as we were trying to figue out how to work
    a borrowed camera….and alas, once again, no picture. I do have a copy of Bill’s pic of the
    white one I’d be happy to show you someday!

Leave a Reply

