#1 Nemesis Bird – Photographed!

Belted Kingfisher

More often than not, the belted kingfishers of Dutchess County get the best of me every time.  They are either too far away or don’t sit still, putting them on the top of my nemesis list.

Well this time, I got the best of one.

While hanging around the front ponds, a group of runners passed by and ran up through the woods.  I figured they might spook up some birds (ducks, herons, or kingfishers), so I held my ground to see what might surface.  Sure enough, the cry of a kingfisher came heading my way!  He flew overhead, but immediately turned around and to my surprise, landed nearby!  I was able to snap two photos before he took off to a normal out of range perch.

For 2012, Derrick 1 – Kingfisher  0 (I know it won’t last, but I’ll enjoy it while I can!)

This entry was posted in Photos and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to #1 Nemesis Bird – Photographed!

  1. Jamie says:

    Great picture Derrick, I know how tricky they can be to photograph.
    That’s the female though, isn’t it?

    • Derrick says:

      Hi Jamie! Yes, the orange ‘vest’ on the kingfishers breast means it is a female. I too often refer to everything as ‘he’ or ‘it’ by default. 😛

  2. avian101 says:

    Nice capture Derrick!
    Is that a punk do I see?:)

Leave a Reply

