Wildlife Photos from 04/13/12 – Vassar Farm

Common Grackle

I tried to press my luck and do another hike during the week, this time at Vassar Farm after work.  After all, it’s that time of year where you have a good chance on finding really great sightings at any time.  So the more I get out, the better chances I have, right?

At the front pond, it was much quieter than normal.  I didn’t hear any red-winged blackbirds, mockingbirds, or ducks.  There were only a few common grackles hanging around, and the one I photographed was through a shrub along the pond.

The community gardens were a little more lively with some brown-headed cowbirds, eastern bluebirds, and a northern cardinal.  The cowbirds in particular were funny, as the male seemed like he was trying to charm a female, but she didn’t want anything to do with him.  It looked like as if I was going to have another great sighting day.  I couldn’t have been more wrong.

Through the fields, at the back ponds and on the way back was hardly a single bird.  I heard a single wood duck, but I didn’t see it.  In fact, the only sighting for the rest of this hike was a gray squirrel sitting in the hole with the fake woodpecker.  I got a chuckle from that… that fake woodpecker isn’t fooling any of the wildlife in the area, as I’ve seen other woodpeckers, bluebirds, and now squirrels entering and leaving the holes in the telephone pole.

Unfortunately, every day can’t be an exciting wildlife sighting day, but that doesn’t make being outside any less enjoyable.

Photos from Vassar Farm (click photos to enlarge)

This entry was posted in Hiking, Photos and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Wildlife Photos from 04/13/12 – Vassar Farm

  1. avian101 says:

    Nice set of pictures Derrick! 🙂

Leave a Reply

