New Butterfly Photographed – Wild Indigo Duskywing

Wild Indigo Duskywing

While viewing waterfowl at Lake Walton along the Dutchess Rail Trail, I was alerted by my wife that a small black butterfly flew by us.  Intrigued, I watched if very closely and carefully, hoping it would land.

Sure enough, it landed on the ground just long enough to get a shot.  After looking at the shot, I knew I had something I never photographed before, but I wasn’t sure of the species.

After several days of searching on both BugGuide and Butterflies and Moths of North America, I believe I found a match in the wild indigo duskywing.  Definitely very cool!

This entry was posted in Photos and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

