Wildlife Photos from 04/15/12 – Lake Walton

Rusty Blackbird

So, the return trip to where I found my first pine warbler was a little cloudier and rainier than my previous visit.  I was hoping lightning would strike twice and I would find another warbler species that I’ve never seen.

Well, I did find a warbler species, but it’s one I’ve seen before.  Still, it was a first of season yellow-rumped warbler, and it is beautiful bird nonetheless.  Too bad the weather wasn’t looking as pretty as the bird though.

Yellow-rumped Warbler

The clouds really began to roll in as I got to Lake Walton, but once I saw the ducks out on the water, I completely lost focus on the weather.  Two pairs of ring-necked ducks and 2 pied-billed grebes, the later being a new bird for me!  I couldn’t any good photos, but I did my best.

After the wild indigo duskywing sighting, it began to rain, so i had to pack it up and head out.  A few minutes later the rain stopped, and just in time too, as I began to hear dozens of rusty blackbirds!  Still cloudy out, I tried my best to photograph them, since I’ve only ever seen them once before.

Once again, it was a short day with a few sightings, but those few were certainly not the most common birds around town.  Enjoy the gallery below!

Photos from Lake Walton (click photos to enlarge)

This entry was posted in Hiking, Photos and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

