Wildlife Photos from 04/21/12 – Peach Hill Park

Brown Thrasher

It was a unique day at Peach Hill Park last Saturday, with members of the Ralph T. Waterman Bird Club meeting early in the morning for a planned bird watching hike.  I joined up with them in what started as a dreary day, but quickly turned into a gorgeous one.

After just a few minutes, one of them heard a black-and-white warbler.  I also heard it, but I wasn’t able to get a picture.  I’ve only ever seen one before and that was almost a year ago!  Looks like I’ll have to wait a little longer.

The biggest highlight for me was a blue-headed vireo, a first for me.  There were several birds hopping around in the area, including white-throated sparrows and yellow-rumped warbler, but I was completely focused on my new feather friend.  I didn’t have much time to get acquainted though, and he took off with seconds without getting a clear look.

Blue-gray Gnatcatcher

As the sun began to come out, so did the wildlife.  The eastern towhees sang from the tree tops, as did the elusive brown thrashers.  The one species that was the most cooperative was the blue-gray gnatcatchers.

I’ve never had much luck with these guys, but there was one at the Mid-Hudson Overlook that was very involved in finding lunch and less concerned with me.  It worked in my favor, as I got my best shots of a gnatcatcher to date!

I got some other photographs of birds throughout the day too, which you can see below.

Photos from Peach Hill Park (click photos to enlarge)

This entry was posted in Hiking, Photos and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

