What I’ve Give For A Second Chance

Large groups of birds have begun migrating through the area, which means I’ll finally get another chance at some tough to find birds.  Some of them only pass through the area, so being at the right place and right time has never been more important.

After getting a much improved black-and-white warbler photo last weekend, I figured I would share some of the other birds I have on my ‘Most Wanted’ list.

Blackburnian Warbler – I last saw one of these guys at Vassar Farm back in 2010.  While helping with the annual spring census bird count, I happened to see a hint of orange up in the treetops.  The only photo I was able to get through the foliage is the one you see here.


Tennessee Warbler – Last year at Peach Hill Park in May, there was a solid week where migrating tennessee warblers rested and sang from the center of apple trees.  After that week, they were gone for.  I sat and waited for what felt like hours to photograph one, seeing tiny glimpses of the bird through the leaves.  This was the best I was able to get on a very cloudy morning in May.


Black-throated Green Warbler – Another warbler first seen last year at Peach Hill Park.  They usually sing high from the treetops, which I heard numerous times throughout the year at various places.  One lucky day at the park, there was one foraging  through apple trees.  This was the only look I got all year.


Bay-breasted Warbler – Another 2011 sighting in May, this time at Vassar Farm.  While in the woods, I heard a bird singing I didn’t recognize.  After scrolling through my mp3 player, I made a match.  I waited for another 30 minutes to catch this quick look at yet another beautiful warbler.


Worm-eating Warbler – The photo may say 2010, but the shot was actually from 2009, a year before the blog and before I had the camera I currently use.  It was at Vanderbilt Mansion and it was the last time I ever saw one.  I’m still counting the days until a second chance.

This entry was posted in General and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to What I’ve Give For A Second Chance

  1. AJ says:

    Wow! I’m impressed at your patience… and maybe your telephoto lens… to capture these rarely-seen birds!

  2. Elaine Andersen says:

    Very clever title for your photo essay! I’d be very thrilled to have taken
    any of the above. Thank you for sharing your passion with us all!

Leave a Reply

