Wildlife Photos from 05/06/12 – Vassar Farm

Solitary Sandpiper

After a very successful (and overcast) Saturday spotting migrating birds, I turned my attention to Vassar Farm on Sunday.  I figured I might run into my first sandpipers of the season, so I headed to the front pond to begin my search.

I wasn’t expecting to find one so quickly, but he turned out to be one of many at the pond!

Most of them were solitary sandpipers, but I also got a brief look at a spotted sandpiper.  I did get a chuckle at the scenario, as I spotted several solitaries, but only a solitary spotted. 😛

The front pond turned out to be the best spot of the day.  Grackles, blackbirds, herons, and sandpipers were all found and photographed.  The spot was so hot, that I went back six hours later when the sun was nearly breaking through the clouds to get better photos.

I did get a couple of other decent sightings, including my very first nashville warbler, a surprising flyover of double-crested cormorants and even a couple of ‘heard more often than seen’ wood thrushes.  It was another good day at a great place.

Photos from Vassar Farm (click photos to enlarge)

This entry was posted in Hiking, Photos and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Wildlife Photos from 05/06/12 – Vassar Farm

  1. avian101 says:

    I’m overwhelmed by all these birds, you had a bonanza! Terrific outing you had Derrick! 🙂

    • Derrick says:

      Thanks! Around the area this time of year is just nuts with all of the migrating birds. If only all my days out hiking could be like this. 😛

  2. Elaine Andersen says:

    Love the line about the several solitaries but only a solitary spotted!
    For some reason, I can’t make the pix bigger when I click on them…
    can you imagine why?

Leave a Reply

