New Bird Photographed – Bonaparte’s Gull

Bonaparte’s Gulls

My wife and I went to Norrie Point for lunch on Friday when she pointed out a few gulls on the Hudson River.    Figuring they were the common ring-billed variety, I ate my sandwich.

Once I was done though, they were still there, so I figured I might as well photograph them.  That turned out to be a very good idea!  They were actually bonaparte’s gulls, a migrant to this area.

I’m no expert on gulls, but they are either non-breeding adult gulls or juvenile gulls, because they certainly don’t look like a breeding adult.  What I do know is that they are now my 135th bird photographed in Dutchess County!

This entry was posted in Photos and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to New Bird Photographed – Bonaparte’s Gull

  1. Congrats. Was the loon still hanging around?

Leave a Reply

