New Bird Photographed – Lincoln’s Sparrow

Lincoln’s Sparrow

My luck continued into Saturday for my return trip to Peach Hill with my very first lincoln’s sparrow sighting!  Believe it or not, if an indigo bunting hadn’t flown past me, I would have never looked up to see this quiet and motionless sparrow staring back at me.

I actually didn’t know what it was at first other than knowing it wasn’t an ordinary sparrow.  The key identifiers were the buffy eye-ring, dark streaks along the breast and also the gray eyebrow.  This is now my 136th bird photographed in Dutchess County!

This entry was posted in Photos and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to New Bird Photographed – Lincoln’s Sparrow

  1. avian101 says:

    You are on a roll Derrick! 🙂

    • Derrick says:

      Definitely! It’s a amazing how one simple event leads to another amazing moment. It makes me wonder everything I don’t see while I’m out.

Leave a Reply

