Wildlife in the Adirondacks

Adirondacks (Friends Lake)

I brought my camera up in to the Adirondacks for my little birthday excursion just in case I had a little time to look and listen for wildlife.  Thankfully, I didn’t have to look very far, as there were plenty of great subjects right where we were staying!

The very first bird that I heard was a blackburnian warbler.  I was hoping he would come down from the treetops, but it never happened.  The next species I identified was the wildlife highlight of the trip.

There were several northern parula at our cabin too!  I chase them here during Spring migration, but in parts of the Adirondacks, they stay for the summer.  It allowed me some of the best looks and shots I’ve ever gotten of them.  Other notable sightings included a red-breasted nuthatch and some ovenbirds.

Unfortunately, the better sightings during the trip I couldn’t photograph, such a common loon and a couple of common ravens.  Looks like I have a reason to go back! 🙂

Photos from the Adirondacks (click photos to enlarge)

This entry was posted in Hiking, Photos and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Wildlife in the Adirondacks

  1. avian101 says:

    Great captures Derrick! 🙂

Leave a Reply

