New Butterfly Photographed – Meadow Fritillary

Meadow Fritillary

Stanford Wildlife Preserve in the Town of Stanford turned out to be a small butterfly haven!  I could barely take a step without pearl crescents & common ringlets fluttering up from the grassy trails.

On my way back to the parking lot, I spotted what looked like a miniature fritillary… not much bigger than one of those pearl crescents.  I snapped a shot and off he flew.  After a little research at home, I am fairly confident that it is a meadow fritillary, a first for me!  Not bad for my first time at this place! 🙂

This entry was posted in Hiking, Photos and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

