New Bird Photographed – Yellow-Billed Cuckoo

Yellow-Billed Cuckoo

Friday, August 31st was my final day of summer hours at work, so I wanted to make it special.  It’s hard to do that too, it’s an unpredictable world out there.  Sometimes though, things just go your way.

After a long day of hiking at Buttercup Farm Sanctuary, I decided to make a stop at the Stanford Wildlife Preserve along the Salt Point Turnpike.  I had a fairly good day, but nothing I haven’t seen before.  Then it happened.

While walking back to the car, I noticed what looked like a mourning dove fly down from the trees.  I hadn’t seen much else there in the evening, so I was curious.  Once I got a good look, I knew it wasn’t a dove.

I couldn’t believe what I was seeing… a yellow-billed cuckoo.  It was the one type of bird I was hoping to see this summer, and here he was.  It is the 139th I’ve photographed in Dutchess County now!  The last cuckoo I saw was the black-billed variety at Hopeland Park in Staatsburg, and that was more than two years ago.

I got a couple of other photos of the yellow-billed cuckoo to share as well.

Yellow-billed Cuckoo

Yellow-billed Cuckoo

 

This entry was posted in Photos and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to New Bird Photographed – Yellow-Billed Cuckoo

  1. avian101 says:

    Congratulations Derrick! This is a reward for you and your hard work! 🙂

    • Derrick says:

      Thanks HJ! It couldn’t have come at a better time too. This summer has been brutal in our neck of the woods (I’m sure it was worse by you), so this was well worth the sweaty afternoons! 😛

Leave a Reply

