Other New Insects & Moths

Banded Argiope (Banded Garden Orbweaver)

With the addition of new field guides and online resources, I have been taking more photos of insects, moths & dragonflies to try and identify them.  During my hikes at Buttercup Farm Sanctuary and the Stanford Wildlife Preserve, I ran into a couple of really interesting looking spiders and moths.

I wasn’t expecting to identify all of them in a single afternoon, but between the Peterson Field Guide for Moths and BugGuide.net, I was able to ID most of them.

The first one (seen to the right) is a banded argiope.  It is also commonly referred to as a banded garden orbweaver.  I found it in a field at Buttercup Farm Sanctuary and I was mesmerized by the pattern.  I had to get a picture, even though it gave me goosebumps.

The rest of the bunch came from the Stanford Wildlife Preserve.

After stepping out of the car, I noticed another fairly large spider with a different pattern.  It turned out to a be a black and yellow argiope.  It is also commonly referred to as a yellow garden orbweaver.

Since it was nearing 6:00 pm and the sun was setting behind the trees, I also found dozens of moths.  Only a few of them landed in clear view, and I photographed two of them.  One of them is a forage looper (I think… there’s so many moths that look alike!) while the other is a white banded toothed carpet.  The pictures are below for those interested.

This entry was posted in Hiking, Photos and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

