Wildlife Photos from 09/09/12 – Denning’s Point

Black-throated Green Warbler (fall)

I was in the right spot at the right time in Beacon, with many things going on all at the same time.  I didn’t have the best lighting in the world, but I did the best I could.

Ironically, the main reason I went was to look for migrating sandpipers, and I didn’t see a single one.  It was even low tide when I got there!  I had everything going in my favor, but sometimes you just strike out.

What I missed in sandpipers, I made up for in sheer variety.  I got a see a great variety of herons and egrets, including my first black-crowned night-heron.  I also stumbled into a mixed flock of migrating fall warblers, some of which I still haven’t identified yet.  Add in an osprey, and it’s another exciting day along the Hudson River.

Wildlife from Denning’s Point (click photos to enlarge)

This entry was posted in Hiking, Photos and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Wildlife Photos from 09/09/12 – Denning’s Point

  1. avian101 says:

    Nice shots Derrick 🙂

Leave a Reply

