Got’cha!

Belted Kingfisher

It doesn’t happen very often, but I got a pretty good up close look at a Belted Kingfisher the other day!

I didn’t even make it past the first mile of my eight and a half mile hike throughout the Hyde Park trail system.  At Bard Rock, on the Vanderbilt Mansion property, I was amazed to see two male kingfishers chasing each other at high speed.  They would occasionally land on a tree here and there, so I picked a tree and waited in hope to get a shot of my nemesis.

Twenty minutes later, one landed right next to me!  I had a good five seconds to get some shots before he took off screaming along the Hudson.  What a thrill!

This entry was posted in Photos and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

