Taking a Break

I find myself in a challenging spot this month.  It’s not something I am happy about, but it really needs to happen.  I tried to make everything work out, but it is too much to handle.

I’m taking a break from Local Exploration.

I’m not exactly sure how I managed to get this far, but it all caught up to me really quick a few weeks ago – I have been running on all cylinders and I finally crashed.  How not having a car since June of last year didn’t stop me in my tracks, I’ll never know.

Monday through Friday I work my 9-5 job, and at night, I am busy editing photos and posting articles on my site.  I will typically work on that until 11 pm every week day.  On the weekends, I might get out hiking once or twice (sometimes more).  I would also try to work on my Zazzle store too.  I have repeated this process for a long time without much rest and it finally caught up with me.

Don’t think of this as the end of Local Exploration though! It’s more of a much needed vacation away from the hobbies that I love far too much to put down.  I don’t know how long I will be away, but I will still share some photos on Facebook from time to time.

In the meantime, please use the site as a resource to our region and the wildlife that can be found within it.  After all, that was why I started this site in the first place. 🙂

This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Taking a Break

  1. Billy L says:

    Hey we all need a break once in a while, photography is NOT an easy hobby. I did the same thing last year staying up to all hours editing and framing and mailing stuff out. I even rented space at a gallery in Red Hook, Brooklyn to sell my work and I NEVER made a profit, in fact I lost $2,000.00. Sold most of my equipment. You do good work Derrick and thanks for your commitment to sharing your local wildlife with us.

  2. Elaine Andersen says:

    It is good to recharge your batteries! You may find you come back with fresh insights and zest!
    Good luck!

  3. Jeff says:

    The birds will be here when you return. I look forward to seeing more of your work in the future. best of luck to you in the meantime.

Leave a Reply

