New Bird Photographed – Common Goldeneye

120812commongoldeneye01On our little mini honeymoon in Kennebunkport, Maine in January, I caught my first glimpse of a common goldeneye.  After nearly one year, I found the species again.  This time, it was at home.

Along the Hudson River at Mills Mansion Historic Site in Staatsburg, I scoped out several of them.  Even from far away, the white spot on the cheek of the males could be seen.

This is the 144th bird I’ve photographed now in Dutchess County.  It’s hard to believe that in three and a half years I’ve found so many species in such a small little place of the world.  For anybody still following the blog despite the lack of updates, thank you for following along on my journeys online. 🙂

This entry was posted in Photos and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

