Year in Review – Marriage, a New Home & All the Birds in Between

married

Married January 20th,2012

2012 has been a pretty good year if you ask me.  In the first month alone, I got married to my long time girlfriend, moved into a new place to live, and got an opportunity to write for the Poughkeepsie Journal’s My Valley section.  Not to shabby, huh?

At the beginning of the year, I almost spent as much time outdoors as I did at my full time job.  That time at the grindstone paid off as the spring migration approached.  With another year of experience on my side, I captured some of the best photos I have to date.  Highlights included plenty of warblers and butterflies, my first merlin, first yellow-bellied cuckoo, and first white-eyed vireo.  It seemed that nothing would slow me down.

But things began to change in the second half of the year.

Black-throated Green Warbler

Black-throated Green Warbler

Despite all the momentum, things did slow down.  I got bigger work opportunities, which could potentially allow me to have a better life and better equipment.  I also began spending more time editing and organizing my photos so that I could sell them down the road.

Towards the end of the year, a short phone call completely changed everything.  It made us rethink renting a place to live and consider purchasing our own home.  For the last three months of the year (which explains the lack of posts), my wife and I have been going through the process of finding a house.  Believe it or not, we found one very quickly, but a home inspection made us run away as fast as we could.  I’ll stop there though, as I don’t want to spoil the full story, so I’ll touch on this down the road.

Christmas week, I found myself falling into that familiar rhythm again.  I was able to get out hiking in the morning of both Christmas Eve and Christmas Day.  It looked like things were going to go back to normal.  I would have already posted most of the shots from those days, but we had the unfortunate pleasure of being in a car accident.  My wife and I were sore, but we’re okay.

It wasn’t the way I was hoping to end 2012, but with big things hopefully on the horizon, I’ll make up for it in 2013.  As always, thank you to everyone who has followed me over the years.  I hope my stories and photos have entertained you and encouraged you to enjoy the world around you.

This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Year in Review – Marriage, a New Home & All the Birds in Between

  1. avian101 says:

    My best wishes for next year Derrick! Keep up the good work! 🙂

  2. Congratulations on your good year! The accident should remind us of how quickly things can change. I stopped to see Todd at Pok. Town Hall and he showed me your calendar, very nice. I look forward to seeing and reading more in ’13. Bob.

Leave a Reply

