Wildlife Photos from 03/02/13 – Peach Hill Park & Norrie Point

Eastern Bluebird

Eastern Bluebird

Saturday marked the first day of using my new Canon EOS 7D with the 100-400mm L Series telephoto lens together.  I believe that after a few weeks of practice, this will propel Local Exploration to new heights.

Saturday’s adventure began at Peach Hill Park, where I’ve taken some of my best photos.  But between cloudy skies and scarcity of species, I didn’t get as much practice in as I hoped.  I did come across an american tree sparrow, some deer, and this beautiful eastern bluebird.  After several hours, we moved to the next spot, the Hudson River.

Norrie Point was the next location.  I was hoping to catch an eagle or two, and while I did manage to see a couple, none were particularly close.  I was surprised to find a hooded merganser hiding near the road to the the marina, which was a pleasant surprise.  Definitely the highlight of the day.

Lastly, I stopped at Mills Mansion, but there wasn’t much around at that point in the day, just a red tailed hawk on a telephone poll.  All of my shots from the day can be found in the gallery below.  Enjoy!

This entry was posted in Hiking, Photos and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

