Wildlife Photos from 03/03/13 – Vassar Farm

Golden-crowned Kinglet

Golden-crowned Kinglet

Ahhh… Vassar Farm, the place I really began to learn how to identify bird species and songs.  It is only fitting that one of the first places I take the new camera is a place I learned most of what I know.

Finally, I got a little sun to use to my advantage, but it was short lived.  I managed to find my first great blue heron of the year before it became overcast again.  That was the theme of the weekend.

At the back ponds, I found some mallards and canada geese to practice on, and my first true test with a few golden-crowned kinglets making their way through the area.  I think I might have passed with flying colors this time!

Barred Owl

Barred Owl

By this point, it began to lightly snow, so instead of packing up the camera, we decided to take a trail with a little cover, the red trail.  I typically hike this trail once or twice a year, but after the run-in I had, I might be checking it out a little more often.

As the snow began to come down more steadily, I found him… a barred owl!  It was the first time I spotted one before it saw me and flew to a further spot.  As he turned to look at me, he quietly closed his eyes and peeked at me from time to time.

It was the first time my wife had seen a barred owl in the wild, and I was happy to share that moment with her.  I didn’t stay for too long, as I didn’t want to disturb him, so we ended the day on a high note.

The rest of my photos can be seen in the attached gallery.  Enjoy!

This entry was posted in Hiking, Photos and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Wildlife Photos from 03/03/13 – Vassar Farm

  1. elaine andersen says:

    What a perfect shot of the kinglet and his crown!

  2. Jeff Nicol says:

    Love the Barred Owl, a species I have yet to see in the wild.

Leave a Reply

