New Bird Photographed (sort of) – Red-breasted Merganser

Red-breasted Merganser (female)

Red-breasted Merganser (female)

Over a year ago in Kennebunkport, Maine, I got my first glimpse of a red-breasted merganser.  On Saturday, I got to see another one about a half an hour from our new home!  This time, it was a female.

It was my first time visiting Kingston Point Park last Sunday, and as I was sitting along the Hudson River watching the double-crested cormorants fly by, this gal popped up out of the water about 30 feet away!  Of everything that it could have been, I would have never thought it would be something so uncommon.  I knew I had a few seconds before she would fly off, so I took what I could while staying as motionless as possible.

Seeing that I live in Ulster County now, I figure I’ll have to combine my Dutchess County sightings and Ulster County sightings in to a Mid-Hudson Valley sightings list!

Red-breasted Merganser (female)

Red-breasted Merganser (female)

Red-breasted Merganser (female)

Red-breasted Merganser (female)

 

This entry was posted in Hiking, Photos and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to New Bird Photographed (sort of) – Red-breasted Merganser

  1. avian101 says:

    Great shots! 🙂

Leave a Reply

