New Bird Photographed – Winter Wren

Winter Wren

Winter Wren

Even before I took a short hiatus at the end of May, I wasn’t consistently posting all the photographs from my hikes prior to that.  Now that I’m back, I’m reviewing what I didn’t post for everyone.  This was a major highlight of 2013 for me, and it took place back on April 28th.

While hiking at Burroughs Sanctuary in Ulster County, I heard a very pretty song from the woods.  I didn’t initially recognize it, but after listening a bit, I narrowed the possibilities down to a species of wren.  I had a suspicion it was a winter wren, which was confirmed when it finally popped out.

I was overjoyed with a new species I hadn’t previously seen, heard or photographed!  It didn’t come nearly as close as I had hoped, but I’ll take it!

This entry was posted in Photos and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

