New Bird Photographed – Which Can Mean Only One Thing…

… I’ve Hit 200 Species!!!

Canada Warbler (male)

Canada Warbler (male)

Today at Vassar Farm, mother nature put on one hell of a show.  It will be one to remember, not only for the new addition to my life list, but for the 86 total species seen for the day.  My 200th species is a Canada Warbler, and they certainly made me work for the shots.

I actually ran into a female canada warbler first, but harsh light and branches in the foreground made it difficult to lock on to my subject automatically.  I had to switch to manual focus, and after many failed attempts, I got a somewhat successful result:

Canada Warbler (female)

Canada Warbler (female)

I would have been completely content with that too, but I got two more run-ins with this new species throughout the day…

The second attempt was a complete bust.  I couldn’t keep up with it and it got away before I could snap a shot.  I wasn’t really bummed out considering that the species will forever be a symbol of my 200th bird on my life list.

The final meeting with the Canada Warbler was after being in the field for over five hours.  I was sweaty, tired and running out of strength, plus this was my fifth day in a row hiking and photographing wildlife too.  The odds were against me, so I took a deep breath and went to work.

Canada Warbler (male)

Canada Warbler (male)

This time, I had the more colorful male hoping through the thick vegetation.  The first few shots were either mostly obscured or out of focus.  I didn’t let it phase me and continued to wait for my opportunity.  Then, it jumped out in to clear view!  I took a few shots, and this was the best of the first exchange.

Canada Warbler (male)

Canada Warbler (male)

The shot was a little shaky, but it was still the best shot up to that point.  I continued to wait some more and another opportunity arose.

Canada Warbler (male)

Canada Warbler (male)

A little sharper and mostly unobstructed with the exception of his perch.  At this point, he began to ascend higher up into the trees.  I managed one more decent shot, which to me, really sums up the day and experience nicely.

Canada Warbler (male)

Canada Warbler (male)

This entry was posted in General, Hiking, Photos and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to New Bird Photographed – Which Can Mean Only One Thing…

  1. avian101 says:

    Congratulations Derrick! 🙂

Leave a Reply

