New Butterfly Photographed – European Skipper

European Skipper

European Skipper

While visiting Hopeland Park in Staatsburg, NY last weekend for a rare bird (more on that later), I spent some time wandering the park in search of other things to photograph.  It felt strange being out hiking in the summer, since last year was completely bogged down by home repair work.

Of all the skippers I saw along the trail, this one looked a little different than what I typically see.  Not having my guide on me, I snapped some photos to research it later when I got home.  It turned out to be a European Skipper, a species I had not previously seen before!

To see a few more…

This entry was posted in Photos and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

