New (Old!) Bird Photographed – White-winged Scoter

White-winged Scoter

White-winged Scoter

As the ice finally started melting on the rivers and creeks at the end of March, we made it out to Sleightsburgh Park to look for waterfowl.  The variety was excellent, but there was one in particular that was a new one for me.

I almost dismissed it as a more common american black duck, but on closer inspection with a spotting scope, it turned out to be an immature white winged scoter!

Winter/Spring waterfowl spotting is somewhat new to me, so I was glad that I was able to successfully ID him.  With adding a spotting scope to my arsenal, it was only a matter of time before I started finding new species around the area.

This entry was posted in Photos and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

